Meet Starla!

No, Starla isn’t another pet, Starla is a 1970, 17 foot, Nomad Camper Trailer! She is the new love of my life, and the second largest item I have ever purchased. Or rather, my dad purchased her, someday she will be all mine though. And there is Marcus, looking handsome in front of her.

I bought Starla to be my new studio, since my current studio (also known in realty circles as a second bedroom) will soon be the home of my friend Ann and her daughter Ayla. Big changes around here in my house! Brandon and I broke up, and now for the first time in 11 years I am a single lady! Its gonna be interesting.

But its also going to be REALLY fun. Ann and Ayla are great, their dog Leafis is awesome, and the chaos created by all of us in this little house will be enormous. And fun. I am looking forward to it. And I am having a blast with my new projects. You all know how I like to keep busy.

So back to Starla. I found her the day I started looking for a trailer to gut and make a studio. And she was perfect. The girl I got her from had already ripped her down to the studs, which I was going to have to do anyway. She was going to make a studio, gypsy caravan, or food cart out of her, and was so excited when I told her what I wanted her for. Match made in Heaven.

I pulled out all the wiring, and yesterday my friend Tim and I tackled putting in the subfloor over the former septic tank. The wood was all rotten, so we replaced it and tacked down some plywood over the whole thing. Trailers are fun to work on, cause well, no building codes! And it turns out me and Tim have similar building styles, as in, we fake it till it works, and then cover it all up before anyone sees how janky it really is underneath. You aren’t going to fall through though, i guarantee it!
And here’s the new floor! Lovely, I know. This will all be covered with new boards, and stained a lovely red (my kitchen floor color, I still have lots left), then sealed. The walls and ceiling will be wood paneling, and I have a large vinyl window to cut in to overlook my garden and chickens. And lots of built in shelves. Tons of them. Keep posted, there will be pictures!

Maggie



Categories: art, home projects | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Meet Starla!

  1. She's beautiful! I can't wait to see the progression.

  2. Congratulations! She's going to make a very cool and cozy studio!

  3. What a cool idea! She'll be custom and all yours, so awesome.

  4. STARLA! I love her already. This just sounds so Rad!xx~anisa

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.